Loma Linda University

Prospective Students | Class Registration
Call Us At: 1-909-558-1000

News and Events > Today News > Today Story

TODAY news for Thursday, July 30, 2007

School of Public Health news

School of Public Health honors students at awards banquet

David Dyjack, DrPH, CIH (right), honors Raymond Ryckman, PhD, and Carolyn Stuyvesant, MS.
David Dyjack, DrPH, CIH (right), honors Raymond Ryckman, PhD, and Carolyn Stuyvesant, MS.
The School of Public Health gave out its diplomas on June 10, but the evening before, the School also gave out multiple awards to students, faculty, alumni, and staff at the annual awards banquet.

The School paid tribute to the past, as well. An old sign reading “School of Tropical and Preventive Medicine” was put on display. This organization at LLU was a forerunner to the current School of Public Health, which was established in 1967 and is celebrating 40 years of existence this year. The sign was borrowed from Raymond Ryckman, PhD, emeritus professor of microbiology, School of Medicine, who was also involved in the early days of public health at LLU.

Dr. Ryckman and Carolyn Stuyvesant, MS, an early public health student, were recognized by David Dyjack, DrPH, CIH, School of Public Health dean.

Dr. Dyjack also gave special recognition to Susanne Montgomery, PhD, MPH, and Christine Neish, PhD, for their hard work and dedicated service to the School. Dr. Montgomery has worked at the School for about 12 years, and she served for the past two years as the School’s associate dean for academic affairs. She recently stepped down from this administrative post in order to focus on research, and she is now director of the School’s Center for Health Research.

Dr. Neish has worked in the School of Public Health since 1973. While she still holds a secondary appointment in the SPH, as of summer 2006 her primary appointment is now in the LLU School of Nursing.

The other awards of the evening were as follows:

Alumnus of the Year
Mekebeb Negerie
Chancellor’s Award   
Kara Zografos
Dean’s Award   
Angelica Herrera
Nadine Mirzayan
Hulda Crooks School of Public Health Scholarship      
Christina Ellis    
Melanie Fellows
Tammy Young
Willard and Irene Humpal Award   
Dixon Anjejo
Distinguished Service Award   
Susan Beaman
Merritt C. Horning Award    
Wen-Ling Liao
Wil Alexander Whole Person Care Award   
Ian Hudson
Delta Omega Honor Society
Heather Diaz           
Christina Ellis           
Adam Freeberg       
Sonja Halterman       
Fred Lopez
Minzah Malik
Maury Manliguis        
Julie Miller           
Nadine Mirzayan
Steve Owh
David Reynan
Nicole Verner           
Julie Wong
Kara Zografos
Selma Andrews Award
Fermin Fierro           
Sanam Kazemi           
Mike Leibow
Astrid Mickens
Joe Raphael             
Olga Shuhatovich
See Wei Toh

SPH student association awards    
P. William Dysinger Excellence in Teaching Award   
David Shavlik
Charlie Liu Award    
Bruce Voss
Ruth White Award   
Sarah Hess

Department of global health
Excellence in Global Health Scholarship
Adriana Arzate

Department of environmental and occupational health
Department Scholarship
Maury Manliguis
Excellence in Geoinformatics Studies
David Ross       
Emily Tong

Department of epidemiology and biostatistics
Department Scholarship
Sarah Hess       
Beshoy Nashed

Department of health administration
 Lynna S. Belin Health Administration Scholarship
  Tammy Young
Becky Bushman Memorial School of Public Health Scholarship
   Adriana Arzate
   Rachel Behen   
   Melissa Sykes
Phil S. Carney Jr. Health Administration Scholarship
  Shaun Larsen
Jere & Marian Chrispens Health Administration Scholarship
  Angela Kamau
C. Joan Coggin Health Administration Scholarship
  Josué P. Epane
Wilton L. Halverson Health Administration Scholarship
  James Simmons
Gladys Hewes Health Administration Scholarship
 Joo Kim
Alexander and Maria Kirk Health Administration Scholarship
Godwin Aja
Ron and Madge Oh Health Administration Scholarship  
  Stephanie Walls
Sylvia Ram Memorial Scholarship
Vaishnavi Iyer
Teri S. Tamayose Health Administration Scholarship
 Steve Serrao
Department of health promotion and education
Glen Blix Award for Excellence in Preventive Care
  Lois Clarkson
DrPH Health Education Scholarship
 Maxine Newell       
Clara Omogbai
Gerken-Neish Scholarship
Astrid Mickens    
Clara Omogbai
Jung Park            
Aileen Tareg
The MCH Scholarship
Emilienne Carine Biemi-Ndi
Wiesseman Scholarship
Gemali DeLeon

Department of nutrition
California Walnut Commission
Yu-Lan Chiang        
Chatrapa Hudthagosol
Lan Nguyen

By Heather Reifsnyder

TODAY news for Thursday, July 30, 2007