Loma Linda University

Prospective Students | Class Registration
Call Us At: 1-909-558-1000

News and Events > Today News > Today Story

TODAY news for Thursday, June 8, 2006

School of Dentistry news

Dental students receive numerous awards and honors

Evan E. Lemley receives
Leif K. Bakland, DDS, professor and chair, department of endodontics, presents the International College of Dentists’ Leadership Award to Evan E. Lemley, fourth-year dental student, during the School’s awards chapel.
Numerous awards were presented to dental and dental hygiene students during end-of-the-year celebrations. The dental hygiene awards were given during the dental hygiene pinning on Friday, May 26; additional awards were given during the awards chapel on May 17 and senior banquet on May 24.
The awards recognize clinical and academic excellence, leadership, and exemplary care presented by the students to their patients. Following are the awards:
Dental student awards
American Dental Society of Anesthesiology: Kourosh Dashty
David Anderson Recognition Award: Tomas D. Kutansky
American Association of Endodontists: Pamela A. Vigna
Southern California Academy of Endodontics: John I. Bethers
Graduate Implant Dentistry: Chad A. Gustafson
American Academy of Implant Dentistry: Malinda Kearbey
ICOI-/Sullivan Schein Dental Pre-doctoral Achievement Award: Thomas Fitzpatrick
American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology: Stephanie R. Villanueva
Academy of Osseointegration Outstanding Implant Dentistry: Matthew D. Murray
American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology: Laura D. Pierce
Organization of Teachers of Oral Diagnosis: Amanda M. Jackson Southern California Academy of Oral Pathology: Malinda B. Kearbey
American Academy of Orofacial Pain: Hossein Danesh
American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons: Matthew D. Murray
California Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons: Matthew D. Murray
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Department Award: Tomas D. Kutansky
American Association of Orthodontics: Elena S. Iacob
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry: Cameron E. Fuller
Southern California Society of Dentistry for Children: Daniel R. Anderson
American Academy of Periodontology: Erik F. Sahl
G. Hartzell & Son Clinician Award: Evan E. Lemley
Western Society of Periodontology: Laura D. Pierce
Academy of Operative Dentistry: Patrick Ryan Maddox
Pacific Dental Service Award:  Travis Nelson and David Lee
American College of Prosthodontists: Meschgan Popal
Award in Excellence Prosthodontics: Meschgan Popal
Ben W. Oesterling Award: Tomas D. Kutansky
Fixed Prosthodontics Department Award:  Brandon S. Kearbey
Omicron Kappa Upsilon, William S. Kramer Award for Excellence: Christopher D. Morris
LLU Center for Dental Research Preclinical Basic Science Award: Nathan J. Latimer
The American Association of Oral Biologists: Tyler S. Pritchard
Academic Excellence Gold Award:  Scott R. Dexter, Cameron E. Fuller, Chad A. Gustafson, Justin D. Holder, Brandon S. Kearbey, Malinda B. Kearbey, Tyler S. Pritchard, Erik F. Sahl, Brian C. Sohn, Pamela A. Vigna, and Wade A. Williams.
Academic Excellence Silver Award: Adrian T. Clinciu, Kourosh Dashty, Elena S. Iacob, Brent L. Leggett, Matthew D. Murray, Laura D. Pierce, Hye R. Shin, Eunha You, Jack Hamilton(Part II), and Brian Novy (Part II).
CDA Foundation Sophomore Scholarship: Tri D. Duong, Sungbum Kim, Lawrence J. Lee, Thomas T. Lee, Kevin M. Miller, and Patricia Ramos
American Student Dental Association: Bernard Char
California Dental Association: John A. Krishingner
Service Learning Award: Thomas Fitzpatrick, Alvin B. Matteson, and Heather Neufeld (DH).
International College of Dentists: Evan E. Lemley
National Association of Seventh-day
Adventist Dentists: James H. Lee, DDS
Pierre Fauchard Academy Scholarship: Christine A. Aufderhar
Pierre Fauchard Academy: Elena S. Iacob
Wil Alexander Award: Christopher D. Swagerty
Tri County Dental Society: TBA
Academy of General Dentistry: Scott R. Dexter
Alpha Omega Scholastic: Brandon S. Kearbey
Alumni Association: Jordan N. Buzzell
Wilfred A. Nation Award: Calvin McLemore
Chancellor’s Award: Laura D. Pierce
Prince Award: Jordan N. Buzzell
Omicron Kappa Upsilon (Local OKU): Chad A. Gustafson, Jack Hamilton, Justin D. Holder, Elena S. Iacob, Brandon S. Kearbey, Malinda B. Kearbey, Tomas D. Kutansky, Laura D. Pierce, Pamela A. Vigna, Stephanie R. Villanueva, Wade A. Williams, Ming Zhao (IDP), Mathew T. Kattadiyil (faculty), and Charles W. Westwrick (honorary).
Delta Dental Student Leardership: Tomas D. Kutansky
Dental Foundation of California Scholarships: Jordan Buzzell, Wade Williams, and Daniel Anderson
American College of Dentists, Southern California Section: Brian B.  Novy
The Academy of Dentistry International Tanaka Junior–Nominee Only: Chad Abby

Dental hygiene awards
Dean’s Award: Janelle Cobb
Bates Award: Cathryn Dawson, Rachelle Reaney
Middleton Award: Shanan Carlson
Mitchell Award: Janelle Cobb
Clinician’s Award: Kelsie Arizaga
Sigma Phi Alpha: Denise Campas, Shanan Carlson, Janelle Cobb, Dana Kattenhorn,  and Tina Wister
California Dental Hygienists’ Association Outstanding Leadership Award: Denise Campas
Research Award: Shanan Carlson and Heather Neufeld
Klooster Award: Desteen Stroh
Tri-County Dental Hygienists’ Society Award: Heather Neufeld
Western Society of Periodontology Award: Denise Campus
Service Learning: Heather Neufeld
Student of the Year: Desteen Stroh

By Nancy Yuen

TODAY news for Thursday, June 8, 2006